Certified plug-in solar kits
Most state laws require a kit certified by UL or another nationally recognized testing laboratory (NRTL). UL 3700 is the new safety standard written for plug-in solar. Plenty of listings say "UL 3700"; far fewer can point to a certificate. Here is what each maker actually claims.
We found no complete plug-in kit whose UL 3700 certificate we could look up in a public directory. One microinverter maker (APsystems) says its EZ1 is certified to UL 3700 by CSA; others say "compliant" or "in progress". Ask any seller for the certificate number before you buy.
Last checked: · we re-check this table every week
United States
| Product | What it is | What the maker or press says | Certifier named | Evidence we read | Our reading |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| APsystems EZ1 | Plug-in microinverter | "CSA Certified to UL3700 standards" (July 15, 2026) | CSA Group | APsystems USA; no certificate number on the page | Maker says certified |
| Hoymiles HiFlow Pro | Plug-in microinverter, 360 W per unit, up to 1,200 W with four | "UL 3700-compliant" (Hoymiles, July 15, 2026). InsideEVs corrected its story: "not certified by UL Solutions, but designed to meet the UL 3700 standard" | None named | Hoymiles release, InsideEVs | Compliance claimed, no certificate |
| Bright Saver Balcony Solar Kit | Complete kit (uses the Hoymiles microinverter, per one tracker) | Listed as "UL 3700 Certified" by one tracker; another says "reported" | Not stated | Solcountry, RailWatts (no evidence links) | Unverified |
| CraftStrom Smart Kit | Complete kit | "UL 3700 application filed" (tracker) | Not stated | Solcountry | In progress (reported) |
| EcoFlow STREAM / STREAM Ultra | Microinverter / with battery | "UL 3700 In Progress" (tracker) | Not stated | Solcountry | In progress (reported) |
| APsystems EZ1-M kit | Complete kit | "UL 3700 In Progress" (tracker) | Not stated | Solcountry | In progress (reported) |
Prices seen: InsideEVs reports a 180 W HiFlow kit at $499 and a 360 W kit at $700 (July 2026). We list no other prices until we've seen them on a seller's page. Trackers disagree with each other and some get state laws wrong, so we only call something "certified" when the certifier is named.
How to check a US kit yourself
- Ask the seller for the certifier (UL Solutions, CSA, Intertek/ETL, TÜV…) and the certificate or file number.
- Look the number up in that certifier's public directory (UL's is Product iQ).
- Check it covers the whole system your state asks for. New York's bill, for example, says "complete plug-in photovoltaic system"; Utah's law says the device must be certified.
- Read your state's wording on the laws page: some states name UL 3700, others any NRTL, Connecticut UL 1741.
Great Britain
In Britain the test is different: the device must comply with the government's Plug-in Solar Device Interim Product Specification, and the maker must register it on the ENA Type Test Register after G98 type-testing (specification, section 7). At launch, pv magazine reported "only seven legally-compliant plug-in solar devices on the UK government's official database", all from one company, UKSOL (pv magazine, 27 Aug 2026). We have not yet read the register itself, so we list no UK kits until we can link each entry.
Before buying in the UK, ask the seller for the product's ENA Type Test Register entry and a statement that it complies with the interim product specification. See UK rules.